attackofthekillershwees:

cjcroen1393:

I just saw a Team Mystic gym being guarded by a Pidgey.

I don’t know if I should think that’s impressive or pathetic (probably the latter, seeing as it’s now a Team Instinct gym being guarded by a Golduck–and I think it’s being contested…)

People have been putting weak pokemon in gyms on purpose. Sometimes as a joke, but honestly, if you’re fighting a gym alone, it doesn’t matter either way whether you put a strong or weak pokemon in. If you don’t have a team of like 6 or more people to boost prestige and put strong pokemon in all at once, just putting one strong pokemon in won’t hold that gym for any real length of time. I’ll go around town on my own and fight opposing gyms over and over to get experience (you get more experience defeating rival gyms than prestiging your own) and then, since I know I can’t hold a gym on my own anyway, I’ll stick a pidgey or a Magikarp in as a joke. I know I’m going to lose the gym in 5 minutes anyway, might as well give the other teams something to laugh about. 🙂

Leave a comment